The Erasmus+ programme (European Region Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students) was established in 1987. It is a flagship initiative of European Commission, which enables students to study and work abroad in one of the 34 participating countries for a certain period of time (from 3 to 9 months). It forms an important part of the European Union’s Lifelong Learning Programme (LLP). To participate in the Erasmus student mobility you need to be studying in a LLP participating country and to be enrolled in at least the second year in your home institution.Apart from the students, there are mobility possibilities offered by the Erasmus programme also for professors and universities' staff. In the framework of the programme, several activities supporting mobility are supported, such as the Erasmus Intensive Language Courses, where you can improve your language skills by participating in one of the courses offered at the host university.By mid-2010, over 2.2 million students have participated in the exchange in one of more than 4 000 Higher Education Institutions in Europe.Annually, around 200 000 students pack their bags and depart abroad to spend part of their studies in a foreign country.